2023 Bencher Election Results

November 21, 2023

The Law Society of Alberta is pleased to announce the results of the 2023 Bencher Election. Of the 11,352 eligible voters, 5,068 lawyers (45 per cent of the profession) voted. The following Benchers are elected for a three-year term commencing Feb. 29, 2024:


Deanna Steblyk, KC

Northern District

Stephanie Dobson

Central District

Bud G. Melnyk, KC

Southern District

Ryan D. Anderson, KC

Edmonton District

Sony Singh Ahluwalia, KC
A. Danielle Bourgeois
Arman Chak
Malcolm Lavoie
Scott Matheson
Sandra Petersson, KC
Ronald A. Sorokin
Nicole Stewart
Moira Váně

Calgary District

Kene Ilochonwu, KC
Jim M. Lutz, KC
Kelsey J. Meyer
Sharilyn C. Nagina, KC
Stacy Petriuk, KC
David Tupper
L. Grant Vogeli, KC

View the complete official results.