Notices of Resignation

s.32 Resignations in the face of discipline proceedings

See also s.32 Resignations.

The Law Society of Alberta serves the public interest by promoting and ensuring high standards of ethics and competence on the part of all those seeking admission to and practicing law in Alberta.

To do so, the Law Society of Alberta sets and enforces standards of conduct through a clear and comprehensive Code of Conduct, and a timely, fair and transparent discipline process.

As the regulatory body of Alberta lawyers, the Law Society of Alberta is authorized under the Legal Profession Act to post notices regarding disciplinary actions, including suspensions, disbarment, resignations and reinstatements.

Please note that wherever applicable, custodian information related to a member is included within the notice.

s.32 Resignations in the face of discipline proceedings - K. June Koska

Notice To:

All Active Lawyers and Students-at-Law,
All Executive Directors of other Law Societies in Canada,
All Justices of the Court of Appeal and Court of Queen's Bench,
All Judges of the Provincial Court of Alberta,
All Masters in Chambers,
All Clerks of the Court.

Notice Detail:

On December 6, 2016, a Resignation Committee of the Law Society of Alberta accepted an application by K. June Koska, a member of the Law Society, who lives and practiced law in St. Albert, Alberta, to resign pursuant to section 32 of the Legal Profession Act R.S.A. 2000, c. L-8.  Ms. Koska’s resignation is effective December 17, 2016.

At the time of her resignation, Ms. Koska was facing citations alleging conduct deserving of sanction.  Ms. Koska denied the merit of a former client’s complaint alleging that Ms. Koska failed to respond in a timely manner to her client, opposing counsel and a third party; failed to move the client’s matter forward; failed to provide Statements of Account and failed to inform her client that she was suspended on March 31, 2014.  Ms. Koska admitted that she failed to respond to communications from the Law Society during the period of March 2015 until July 2016.  

The full written decision of the Resignation Committee will be posted to the Law Society of Alberta website when it is issued.


Elizabeth J. Osler
Deputy Executive Director & Director, Regulation
Law Society of Alberta